Geographic Area Served

In general, eligibility for our discretionary grantmaking is limited to projects, programs and efforts that serve cities and towns in the five Greater Boston counties: Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk and Plymouth. (This is sometimes referred to as our 'catchment area.')

While we focus on Boston and surrounding communities, we also fund work elsewhere in the above counties to address significant needs or where there is a strong connection with and influence on Greater Boston policy interests.

The Boston Foundation "catchment area"

TBF eligibility map